top of page


Ft. ArcaSōnica String Orchestra and Janet Lyu



Join ArcaSōnica's musicians for an evening of lush and powerful music written by composers Tanner Porter and Michael Daugherty. 


Be awed by the majestic grandeur of Tanner Porter's Canyons. This piece will shake you to the ground with its relentless, pounding, beauty.

Closing the concert with Fallingwater for Violin and String Orchestra by Michael Daugherty, and soloist Janet Lyu. This piece is an emotional, yet thrilling ride inspired by the life and work of visionary architect Frank-Lloyd Wright.

Doors open at 6:30pm; Concert begins at 7pm

Adults: $10

College Student: $5
Student under 18yrs: Free

Janet lyn: Performing Fallingwate by Michael Daugherty


Janet Lyu is a freelance violinist based in Ann Arbor and previously attended the University of Michigan for violin performance degrees. She is a tenured member of multiple regional orchestras in Michigan and has attended the National Repertory Orchestra, Aspen Music Festival & School, and Pacific Music Festival multiple times on full scholarship. While she is a seasoned orchestral musician, she frequently workshops contemporary pieces for Michael Daugherty. Fun fact: When Janet was a member of the Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestra from 2005-2007, the CYSO once performed Daugherty’s “Route 66” on the Chicago Symphony’s stage. He traveled to Chicago to see the performance and conduct a Q & A during the show, and the only thing she remembers from the whole evening was that he was VERY tall. She is honored to be able to perform a piece dedicated to an incredible female violinist, and hopes to perform more of Michael Daugherty’s solo violin works in the future.

bottom of page